Home » Uncategorized » Back to the Real World

Back to the Real World

Well it’s hard to believe that vacation has been over for a week and I’m already behind on blogging. I’m going to have to get better about this time management thing. We ended our vacation on a great note. We had to be out of our cabin by 10 AM and our flight out of Albany wasn’t until 5:30 PM. My sister-in-law Anne had nicely prepared goodie bags for each of the families and in ours was a brochure about a quilt exhibit at the Adirondack Museum in Blue Mountain Lake. I had been trying at convince some of the family to go with me, but for some unknown reason boating, hiking, and white water rafting seemed to appeal to them more. So on Saturday, my wonderful, thoughtful husband suggested a trip to Blue Mountain Lake and the Adirondack Museum to fill the time before our flight. “Common Threads: 150 Years of Adirondack Quilts and Comforters” was a real treat. The quilts were displayed throughout the exhibits housed in the numerous historic buildings dedicated to the Adirondack way of life. If you are in the area, be sure to add this to your list of places to visit. We only had time for quilt viewing, but there was so much more to see for the whole family.

Caitlin and I at the Common Threads exhibit at the Adirondack Museum

Caitlin and I at the Common Threads exhibit at the Adirondack Museum

Antique quilt in the exhibit.

Antique quilt in the exhibit.

Meanwhile, the warehouse has been humming as we begin the “get ready for Market and Festival time”. New fabric collections seem to be arriving daily and Marcie is adding them to the website as fast as her little fingers can type – that computer is smoking. Be sure you check out Patchwork Heritage, Scarborough Fair (my daughter Caitlin, the non-quilter, non-floral person gave a thumbs up to this collection), Shirtings, and of course Bonnie Blue’s America. Paula is in design mode and I’ve got the sewing machine running at warp speed.

I’m about halfway through piecing our Web Sampler Finishing kit and I have to say it is gorgeous. It should go off to the quilter by Wednesday and it will be time to start the next one. This is probably the craziest time for our business, but it’s the time I love the best – sitting at my machine, piecing the fabric, and watching Paula’s latest design come into being.

Personal note – Caitlin and I each had a movie we wanted to see and also wanted someone to see them with. Needless to say they were not movies we would both enjoy, but we decided we would go to see both of them together. Her choice, “G.I. Joe”, mine “Julie and Julia”. I have to say to our surprise, we both enjoyed both of them. Good looking “scenery” in “G.I. Joe” and a decision to never attempt to reproduce Julie’s cooking efforts from “Julie and Julia”. We’re both way to picky to ever eat most of the food. In the movie review we had at the warehouse, we all agreed to Cindy’s suggestion that we try “Mastering the Art of Cookies”. Definitely more along our comfort level and interest.

Leave a Reply

