It’s Friday night and the weekend is officially here.  Paula and Marcie are both away, so Robin and I decided to call it an early day at the warehouse and we headed to the movies to see “The Time Traveler’s Wife.”  Good movie and we both put it on our recommended movie list.  Apparently a good book too, but I can’t comment on that.  I started it, but it’s a “sit down and read a long time” book and I don’t have time to do that right now.

Marcie is on a grandparents weekend with 2 of her grandchildren.  They are heading to San Antonio to visit Six Flags Over Texas and Sea World.  Should be a great trip.  I can’t wait for Sydney to be old enough for a visit like that.  A couple of weeks ago she took the other 2 grandchildren to Dallas to the Dallas World Aquarium and the American Girl Dallas store.   Paula and I saw pictures of the American Girl store and can hardly wait for Sydney and Sophie to be old enough for that trip.  There will definitely be shopping involved.

I’m still without AC downstairs, so I am going to be spending a lot of the weekend either in the pool or sewing.  Our Web Sampler quilt just needs borders and then it’s off to the quilters.  Robin is also putting the finishing touches on another one of our “redos” – Flowers for Clara.  She had it up on the design wall today, so I took a quick picture for a sneak preview.  The colors are just beautiful and this time Paula selected a floral border and for all of you non-appliquers, no applique (insert cheering here). It will be going to the quilters on Monday also.

Sneak preview of Flowers for Clara

Sneak preview of Flowers for Clara

Big news – Windham Fabrics’ Lincoln’s Bicentennial arrived on Thursday and Marcie was able to get in on the website before she went on her mini-vacation.  It is a beautiful collection with 2 great documentaries.  I know many of you have been waiting for this collection to arrive, so be sure you get a chance to check it out.

Civil War Presidents panle

Civil War Presidents panel

Overall panel

Overall panel

I’ve got my camera right next to the sewing table, so I promise more sneak previews as the sewing progresses.  Paula’s in Jacksonville, FL, but there’s a rumor that she was going to be spending some time at the sewing machine today.  I hope she had her camera nearby.

Enjoy your weekend.  If you’re in Texas, it’s the last weekend before school starts on Monday, so make it a good one doing what you like to do.

2 thoughts on “

  1. You are doing great Mary Ellen! Nice informative post and pictures too 🙂 And yeah! no appllique!! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I have enjoyed meeting so many new “friends” via the blogging world. Have a great weekend.

  2. Oh, I love Flowers for Clara…so simple but what a striking design. I gave up on the Time Traveler’s Wife too. Sort of creepy all that interaction with his “wife” as a child. Back to YA/Children’s Lit for me, (well, with a dash of Sophie Kinsella.)

Leave a Reply

