Home » Uncategorized » It’s Done! It’s Done!!!!

It’s Done! It’s Done!!!!

Yes, I have finished our quilt for the fourth Web Sampler Celebration and I have to say it is absolutely gorgeous.  Paula designed all 12 of the blocks and she used one of her newest collections, Bonnie Blue’s America.  You will be able to see all of the blocks and the finishing kits when the website goes “live”.  The program will run from September 15th through November 15th.  The website will have links to the 12 shops that are participating in the program.  You visit each shop, purchase their block, look at their finishing quilt kit, and decide which kit you would like and purchase it.  Right now all of the shops are hard at work completing their quilts.  I can’t wait to see what everyone else has done with these beautiful blocks.  Here’s a sneak preview of Bonnie Blue’s.  I wonder where these stars will appear.

Web Sampler

Web Sampler

Now that the quilt top is done, I will be visiting our other wonderful quilter, Sharon Dixon.  Sharon is right here in Katy and that makes her so nice and convenient.  I also get to do my pre-Market begging face-to-face, instead of long distance.  Sharon is our pantograph or “all-over” quilter and she does a fantastic job.  We absolutely love her work.  In addition to machine quilting, Sharon also creates t-shirt/memory quilts through her business Katy T-Shirt Quilts.  In the past, I made t-shirt quilts as graduation gifts for my children and family members, so it’s nice to know that when it gets crazy I can pass that task off to someone else and know they will do a great job.

Do you hear that humming noise in the background?  That’s the sound of  Bonnie Blue sewing machines hard at work. Robin finished Flowers for Clara and it is beautiful.  I love the floral border on this one.  Now she’s getting started on a new Vicksburg in Moda’s Alliance collection.  Paula added a few more blocks to this quilt, so it will be a little bigger than our original quilt.  I’m working on our quilt using Bonnie Blue’s America.  (Can we say “stars’?)   Marcie is making half-square triangles for a new Glory Bound quilt.  Cindy is hard at work on a new Simple Star (reds and blacks this time) and our good friend Kathy Ernest is piecing a new Second Hand Clothes using Moda’s Collection for a Cause: Legacy.  And that’s only the tip of the iceberg for new designs and re-dos.  I’ve got some pictures now and as things come back to the warehouse I’ll be sharing more.

Flowers for Clara

Flowers for Clara

Star Block

Star Block

On the home front: Still no AC. Maybe the part will arrive today.  We’ve lived either upstairs (AC still working – YEAH) or at the movies!!  This has definitely convinced me that I would not have been a good pioneer.  I love my air-conditioned house, my air-conditioned car, the air-conditioned malls, etc.  It is the only way I can survive in Houston.  I was born, bred, and raised in New York  (Long Island, Syracuse area, Mid-Hudson Valley) and we never had air conditioning, so you would think I could handle a week without some AC.  Apparently these past 11 years in Texas have totally reconditioned me and now I cannot be AC-deprived.  Oh well, at least I’m still holding on to my New York accent.

I have tried desperately to get these pictures to line up where I want them and they absolutely refuse to cooperate with me.  I also have absolutely no clue what I’m doing, so I am going to leave them where they are and consult the expert (Robin) on how to fix this.

Well my machine is calling.  Have a great one and happy quilting!

2 thoughts on “It’s Done! It’s Done!!!!

  1. Paula!

    Congrats on the Blog. Yeah!!! I was sorry I wasn’t able to make it to the class at The Olde Green Cupboard last weekend. But I surely was beaming that you left me a little something regardless. Many thanks for Wheatland.

    With kind regards and warm hugs, *karendianne.

Leave a Reply

