Home » Uncategorized » Busy Weekend

Busy Weekend

I just had a great weekend – family time, good movie, sewing time and sewing room organization.  Let’s start with family time and good movie – Caitlin and I were on line at 10:30 AM on Saturday for the 11:10 AM showing of “2012”.  Disaster movie, movie popcorn, Diet Coke and time with my daughter – it can’t get any better than that.  We contributed to the $65 million that “2012” earned in its opening weekend and all I can say is – YAY!!!!  AND now where is it showing in IMAX?  I love a good disaster movie and  this one had it all – tsunamis, volcanoes, earthquakes, fire and destruction of landmarks.  If this is your type of movie, then be sure you check it out.

Sewing time – I almost have all of the blocks finished for the new Belle Meade quilt.  I actually planned on having them all finished by Sunday night so Paula could arrange them for the quilt top, but sewing room organization got in the way.  The Dynamos lost the game they played in California on Friday night, so that ended their season and the possibility of a game in Houston on Sunday, sooooo Peter was available for sewing room organization assistance.  He hung my Elfa shelves on Sunday afternoon and I spent the rest of the time decorating and setting up the last of my Elfa drawers.  I have all of my fabric stored in these drawers and I just love them.  I filled them with fabric I’ve been stockpiling and I actually have some empty ones right now – trust me, that won’t last for too long.  Caitlin’s comment when she sat down at my sewing table – “Now this looks like YOUR room.”  Yes, it feels like me now.

Website update:  check out Rouenneries by French General for Moda.  This is the collection we are using for the new Belle Meade.  Also check out our new version of one of our most popular quilts – Patriotic Glory Bound.  As part of our “Bonnie Blue Gives Back”, we are always looking for a way to support a worthwhile organization.  Last year we donated to our local quilt guilds, Quilts of Valor and St. Jude  Children’s Research HospitalPatriotic Glory Bound was introduced at Festival and PIQF and 25% of the sale of the quilt kits will be donated to “Operation HomeFront” – an organization that supports soldiers and their families.  It is beautiful quilt and a great one to honor that special soldier in your family.

Patriotic Glory Bound

We did actually get some reorganizing done in the warehouse too, so hopefully I’ll have pictures of a cleaner, organized warehouse to share soon (and some Belle Meade blocks).  It always seems to take longer than we expect – so what else is new.

Enjoy your week and happy quilting.  I’m sure many of you will be working on Thanksgiving preparations.  I’ll be planning for our family Thanksgiving in Royersford, PA.  Can’t wait until Saturday and my Sydney-time.

One thought on “Busy Weekend

Leave a Reply

