Home » Uncategorized » Thank You California

Thank You California

A very special thank you to all the wonderful people who attended the Road to California Quilt Show this past weekend.  It was a great show and thanks to your fantastic shopping skills we are heading home with 30 empty bins!  (I think there’s enough room in the trailer for the antique cabinet I so desperately need to hold all my quilts. Let the shopping begin!)   We loved the opportunity  to meet and reacquaint ourselves with so many of our wonderful customers.  Thank you again.  If you are planning to attend the Jefferson Quilt Show this weekend, don’t panic, there will be plenty of “stuff” for you to buy.  We made a frantic phone call to Marcie  this morning and the girls are working hard to get a box of goodies to us for the show.

On Sunday,  I spent some time looking at the quilts on display, so  over the next few weeks I will share some of the pictures I took.  The quilts were incredible and I never cease to be amazed at what some people can accomplish.  So much talent.  I took pictures, but now I think I should have bought the DVD, my pictures just don’t do them justice.  Tonight I’ll share 2 pictures:  Viewer’s Choice and Masterpiece Award.  I’m not sure of the title of  the Viewer’s Choice quilt, but I’m going with “A Quilt Show”.  It’s miniature quilts hung at a quilt show with people looking at them.  It received a lot of attention,  so it was really hard to get a good picture.  Neat quilt and what a great idea!

Road to California 2010 - Viewer's Choice Award winner

The Masterpiece Award was given to (and this picture is for you Camille) “Tribute to Tolkien”.  This quilt was exquisite.  The workmanship was outstanding.  I photographed the information card for the quilt, so you can see the details.

Road to California 2010 - Masterpiece Award - "Tribute to Tolkien"

"Tribute to Tolkien" information

Today was another day of culinary treats.  We left California the same way we arrived – with a visit to Pinkberry’s.  Boy are we going to miss that place.  We’ve got to convince someone to open a Pinkberry’s franchise in Katy, TX.  Any takers?  Our plan was to drive to Tucson today, but first we were going to stop in Chandler, AZ at the Charleston’s we saw on our way to California.  We tried to eat something small so we could save some room for the bread pudding.  We dreamed about this dessert all day and it was so worth it.  As you can see from the picture it is big, so we didn’t finish it (we needed you for this, Marcie),  but we made sure we scooped up all that sauce.  (Insert slurping noises here!)

Charleston's Bread Pudding dessert

One last picture.  One night while we were in California, Paula and I had to go pick up a package and we saw this in the parking lot.  I’ve heard of them and have seen them in commercials, but I’ve never seen one in person:  an Oscar Meyer Weinermobile!!!

Oscar Mayer Weinermobile

Tomorrow we’re heading to Odessa, TX (about 10 hrs) and then on to Jefferson on Wednesday.  Hopefully we’ll get to see some more of our wonderful customers at that show.  Stop by and say hello.

Happy quilting.

4 thoughts on “Thank You California

  1. Be very careful driving in the rain and enjoy Charleston. I will be working at my local quilt shop today. Have a wonderful show in Jefferson. Arizona in Arizona

    • The picture doesn’t do it justice. It was exquisite. Enjoy what you can see and maybe some day it will travel to a quilt show near you!

Leave a Reply

