Home » Uncategorized » Wild Winter Week

Wild Winter Week

What a crazy week this has been!!!  I am not a sports fan, but I have to comment on the events that began and ended the week – the Super Bowl and the Olympics – and the winter weather that filled the days!!!  Congratulations to the New Orleans Saints on a great game – WHO DAT – and the homage to the over 60 crowd with the Betty White/Abe Vigoda commercial and The Who halftime performance.  The week ended with the Opening Ceremony for the Winter Olympics, a celebration of the world’s athletic youth.  I absolutely love watching the Olympics and unfortunately couldn’t watch the Opening Ceremony last night.  Thank heavens for TiVo.  I am looking forward to an afternoon of sewing and the commercial-free version (I love the fast forward button!!!)

Now can we talk about the winter weather that filled in the week?  I read/heard somewhere that we had snow in all 50 states by the end of the week.  Paula’s family reported 11″ in Dallas and a dusting in Baton Rouge, LA.  My niece in Mobile announced ” IT”S SNOWING!” on her Facebook, the Florida panhandle had some and we certainly can’t forget the pounding the Northeast received.  My son Brett is near Philadelphia and they had about 20″ in just the last storm.  Fortunately, he had a little “help” with the shoveling.  If you haven’t had the snow, then you probably have been dealing with colder-than-average temperatures for this time of the year.  I hope that Punxsutawney Phil’s prediction of 6 more weeks of winter doesn’t mean 6 more weeks like this past week!!!

Sydney "helping" daddy clear the snow on the driveway!

On a brighter note, our “Sweetheart of a Sale” runs through Sunday, February 14th, Valentine’s Day.  Remember, that’s 25% off select kits.  We sold out of Second Hand Clothes and Belle Meade, but there are still kits available.  If you shop now, it could be in your home next week.  With 5 weeks of winter left and the Winter Olympics beginning, you are going to need something to work on!!!

Yesterday was a long, crazy day.  It began at 9:15 AM with Peter telling me that our van needed a new transmission and we wouldn’t be able to drive it on the trip to Florida that we were planning (oh by the way, we are planning to leave on Monday – big problem) and it ended at 10:30 PM with the purchase of a new Toyota Sienna.  The trip to Florida to see family and friends is safe and we will still be leaving Monday.  The in-between  hours were spent planning for the quilt show in Hampton, VA – cutting fabric for kits and bundles, packing bins, and getting organized.  Paula and Cindy will leave next Sunday on the 3 day drive to VA and I will fly from FL and meet them there later in the week.

We are so excited about this show.  Not only will we see vendor friends that we haven’t seen since Des Moines, but we will hopefully have the chance to meet some of our east coast customers.  We have a small booth, so it has been a challenge deciding on which quilts to bring with us.  So if you are in the area, this will be a perfect time to see our newest quilts up close and personal – Old Abe, Evangeline, Antique Star, Sophie, Lee’s Lexington, new Belle Meade, Second Hand Clothes in the Legacy collection, Patriotic Glory Bound, and Savannah in the Homefront collection.  I’ve linked the ones that are currently on the website, but some of them just got back from the photographer (glamour shots, of course) and Marcie is working to get them on there as fast as possible.  I think I’m going to have Marcie send me the images and I will highlight some of these new quilts in the blog over the next couple of days.  Between the trip to Florida and the quilt show, I will be away from sewing for 2 1/2 weeks (insert shudder here) and I won’t have any new quilt updates to share with you.

Fabric I am currently in love with:  Indigo Berries by Jo Morton for Andover Fabrics.  I was cutting fat quarters of this collection yesterday and was just dying as I put each new bolt on the cutting table.  The fabric is just beautiful and the colors and prints are gorgeous.  Here are a couple of my favorites.

There is another collection coming out in March and then again in April.  I can’t wait to see those.  I know we saw them at Fall Market, but that was so long ago.

As usual my pictures did not insert where I wanted them, but so what else is new.  Check out the collection – it’s gorgeous.

My sewing machine is calling and I need to go get a pedicure before we head to Florida.  I just hope it’s warm enough to actually wear sandals.  My goal this weekend is packing, Olympics viewing and finishing the new quilt with those adorable blocks I shared in the last post.

Happy quilting and keep warm.

One thought on “Wild Winter Week

Leave a Reply

