Home » Uncategorized » Great day in Houston

Great day in Houston

For my children’s 16th birthdays, they each picked something that they wanted to do with just Peter and I.  Megan was first (we were living in Poughkeepsie, NY at the time) and she decided she wanted to see a play in NYC, so off we went to see “Les Miserables”.  When Brett’s day came along, I thought for sure we would be heading back to NYC for another play, but he picked the Buick Classic Golf Tournament at the Westchester Country Club.  I will have to admit I wasn’t very excited about it, but we had a great time. (Got to see Fred Funk four putt on four – say that 3 times fast!)  Golf is probably the only professional athletic event where you can stand right next to a player.  When Caitlin’s day arrived we were in Houston and she picked a soccer event and unfortunately I was unable to attend (some school function I had to be at), but she and Peter had a great time.

I’ve been to other plays in NYC and Houston and even other soccer events, but we’ve actually gone to a number of other golf tournaments.  Houston’s offering to the golf world is the Shell Houston Open and Brett has often timed his visits to us around it.  This year just Peter and I went.  It was a beautiful day – sunny and warm with a cool breeze – and it was nice to just walk around and enjoy a Texas spring day.  The final round ended in a tie, so there was a playoff hole and Anthony Kim was the winner.  There was the usual number of beautiful shots and putts and the not-so-beautiful shots into the sand traps and water holes.  We even watched Padraig Harrington take off his shoes and socks, roll up his pant legs and actually stand in the water to hit his ball that was on the “shore”.  All in all a great day in Houston and I got to spend it with my husband, something that I don’t get to do often enough.

Paula and I head back on the road a week from Monday.  We’re off to the International Quilt Festival in Rosemont, IL and then AQS – Paducah.  When we get home from those shows we will be putting Spring Market preparation into high gear.  We have 2 new quilts off at Crooked Creek Quilts for custom quilting and I am working hard on number 3 – that was yesterday’s project.  This one features navys and cheddar – an absolutely gorgeous combination.  I hope to finish this one before we leave and get started on the next one.  Number 4 is designed and now Paula will hit the kit warehouse shelves to find the “right” fabrics.  We’re also waiting for the samples for Paula’s new collection, so I can get busy on number 5.  My portable machine will be traveling with us and I will put it to good use.

New navy and cheddar quilt

Whenever I get a chance I go back to the new Oak Alley and make another block.  Here’s the picture I promised of some of those blocks.  This quilt is going to be yummy.

New Oak Alley blocks

Be sure to check out Jo Morton’s latest collection, Cocoa Express.  Marcie added it to the website, so feel free to drool over it. We are currently taking pre-orders on the fabric and fat quarter bundles.  Rumor has it , it will arrive this week and we should have bundles with us at the Chicago and Paducah shows – keep your fingers crossed.  If it is anything like her last 2 collections, Indigo and Berries and Ravenwood, we won’t be able to keep it on the shelf!!!

It’s still early, so I’m going to put disc 2 from “Glee – Season 1” into the DVD player and sew some more of the navy and cheddar blocks.  I’d heard rave reviews about this show, so I decided to buy the whole first season and watch it on my time (and I am loving it!!!).  There are so many shows that I would love to watch, but there’s just not that much room on the TiVo.  I think it’s great that you can just buy a whole season on DVD.  That way, I can watch it straight through – no commericals, no week in between.  That’s what I’m planning to do for the final season of “Lost”.  There’s no way I can keep up with it from week to week, so I’ll just wait and watch it on my terms.  Hopefully it will make more sense to me too!!!

I hope you all enjoyed your weekend.  Happy quilting until we visit again.

2 thoughts on “Great day in Houston

  1. I think I have a new name for you girls “Girls of the Traveling Quilts”. Be careful with all your travels and hopefully i can see you in Houston for the show. Arla in Arizona

Leave a Reply

