Home » Uncategorized » Hello, it’s me again

Hello, it’s me again

I don’t even want to look at the date of the last post.  I know it’s been a very long time, but believe me I have some fantastic excuses – new quilts, re-dos of old quilts, Market, quilt shows, college graduations, family wedding and best of all – new granddaughter.  Let’s start with that – we welcomed Julianne Marie to the family on June 10th.  She joins my son Brett, my daughter-in-law Meredith and my 1st granddaughter Sydney.  What can I tell you about her other than – SHE”S BEAUTIFUL.  She is actually a dark-haired version of big sister Sydney.  Peter and I are here with them in Pennsylvania and loving each and every minute of being Grandma and Grandpa.

Julianne and Sydney

Julianne - Pretty in Pink

It has been a crazy time and both Paula and I have been running 90 to nothing to get everything done.  We introduced 5 new patterns and therefore 5 new kits at Market.  I’m going to include a description, a photo and a link to our website for each of them.

Harpers Ferry – brown and red are Paula’s “comfort” colors and this quilt features them beautifully.  I’ve been begging Paula to write this pattern and I finally got my wish – I guess it helps to be an excellent whiner.

Harper's Ferry


Lydia
– navy and cheddar and of course, a touch of red.  Paula has decided that cheddar is the new black (I don’t know what that means for that “little black dress” you have in your closet.  Cheddar may not be a good color for many of us!!!)  Just hold up a swatch of cheddar to some blocks you are working on and see how good it looks in all of them.

Lydia

The Long Road Home – lights with a touch of dark and beautiful red set-in side triangles.  What can I say, I love this quilt.  You can imagine yourself curled up under it, while you read a great book.  (Actually, I’d have to turn the AC down to 60 to be able to get under a quilt right now – summer in Houston!!!).

The Long Road Home

LeMoyne House – light background and darks from Paula’s Bonnie Blue Basics II collection.  It’s really a “faux” LeMoyne Star, but we love it and is so much easier to do.  It’s also a little smaller than our usual quilts.  This may be my favorite for this season.

LeMoyne House

Lincoln’s Watch – more details to come later.  This quilt is made from Paula’s new collection with Marcus Fabrics, Reflections of an Era Past.  The fabric hasn’t arrived yet, so we don’t have the pattern or kit on the website.  I will share as soon as it is available.

I hope we had a chance to see some of you at the NQA show in Columbus, OH last weekend.  We had a great time – good friends, good food and great customers.  If you are in the area, stop by and see Paula at the Vermont Quilt Festival this weekend.  Our dear friend Gloria will be with Paula while I’m being grandma.

Many of you have asked and yes there will be another Web Sampler.  WSC V begins July 15th and runs through September 15th and features “Sophia” from Windham Fabrics in blocks designed by Denice Liscomb of Common Threads Quilting.  Amy is hard at work uploading the block photos, but you can check out all of the blocks at the Web Sampler Celebration V website.  Finishing kits are being added daily and ours will be there soon.  Sharon has it now for some of her beautiful quilting.  Remember you have to have all of your ordering complete in the July 15 – September 15 time frame.

There’s so much more to share, but this will get you caught up for the moment.  I did finish the re-do of Belle Meade in those beautiful fabrics I shared awhile back.  As soon as we have a photograph of that I will post it.  Right now I’m hard at work on the crib skirt for Julianne’s room (bumper pads and quilt – check) and a new quilt with lots of half square triangles.  I’ve finished sewing them using Spinning Stars, so now I need to cut and press so I can start putting the blocks together.  I will share some pictures later of these also (and maybe some new baby pictures too)

Until next time – happy quilting.

Mary Ellen

2 thoughts on “Hello, it’s me again

Leave a Reply

