Home » Uncategorized » Future Quilters of America

Future Quilters of America

When I was in high school (please don’t even ask how long ago that was), I was a member (and treasurer) of the Future Teachers of America.  I did go on and actually become a teacher  –  high school and junior high health education for 8 years and elementary school librarian for 22 years – and they were some of the best times of my life.  Throughout all of those years as a classroom teacher and librarian, I was also a quilter but was never a member of the Future Quilters of America.  I’m sure there wasn’t even a group with that name, but after today I am ready to officially start such a group and name myself president.  I was working on a new quilt for BBQ and my 2 year old granddaughter Sydney was “helping” me.  She sat in my lap and handed me pieces that I needed to sew together.  It was like I had died and gone to heaven.  I’ve had absolutely no luck in convincing either of my 2 daughters or my daughter-in-law to become quilters, but I think I may have a winner here.  I am framing this picture and hanging it in my sewing room.

My Future Quilter

While I’ve been here in PA, grabbing all the baby holding time I can possibly manage, I’ve also been finishing up “stuff” for Julianne’s room.  The crib bumpers and quilt were finished in Texas and I sent them ahead in a box with the things I still needed to work on.  Today we hung Julianne’s name over her crib and put the crib skirt in the crib.  I’ll work on the curtains when I get back home.  Sydney’s room was done in pink stripes and Julianne’s is pale purple and green.

Julianne's room

Julianne's crib and accessories

I’ve actually even done some piecing on a new quilt for Bonnie Blue Quilts.  Lots of half square triangles, but once they are done the actual blocks are easy.  My plan is to finish the blocks before we head back to Katy and then I can put the quilt together and get it sent off for quilting.  Here’s a picture of some of the blocks I’ve finished.  Can you guess how this quilt is going to go together?  The other blocks have brown and light half square triangles.  It’s going to be beautiful.

Blocks for new quilt

Paula and Gloria are having a great time in Vermont.  They drove up a day or two early, so they had some time to do some sightseeing – a couple of quilt stores (of course) and Shelburne Museum.  Hopefully they’ve sold a lot of stuff and we have a lot of empty bins because rumor has it that there are some antique stores between PA and TX that are calling our names!!  The show ends on Sunday, so Paula and I will start the drive back home on Tuesday.  We’ll have been gone for 19 days by the time we get home again.  Mid-July we head to California to the International Quilt Festival in Long Beach.

Please join me in welcoming a new member to the BBQ family.  Robin, our California girl, and Paul, her California husband, welcomed Rebecca Ruby LeAnn to their family on Thursday, June 25th.  Mom and baby are doing great.  Can’t wait to get home and start playing substitute grandma for that little one.  Mom and grandma are already quilters, so little Rebecca is a charter member of my new Future Quilters of America.

Peter has the early morning flight back home tomorrow, so I shall close now and get some sleep before I am awake before the sun comes up!  So until next time, happy quilting.

Mary Ellen

6 thoughts on “Future Quilters of America

  1. How Sweet, I remember when my 12 yr old grandaughter helped me, she worried more about the machine running over my fingers and kept pulling them back.

    Stop in Chandler on your way to CA and have some lunch, would love to see you all.

    Arla in AZ

    • Sydney likes to “open” the squares I have pieced together so I can sew them to another set. She’s been pretty good about keeping her fingers away – I was worried.
      I’ll see what are plans are for driving to California and let you know.

Leave a Reply

