Home » Uncategorized » Happy 4th of July

Happy 4th of July

As I’m writing this, I am listening to the sound of fireworks in our neighborhood.  Where we live in Texas, fireworks are sold for all of the major holidays:  Christmas, New Year’s Eve, Memorial Day and the 4th of July.  Big trailers filled with all sorts of fireworks are pulled into parking lots all around the city for at least 2 weeks around the holiday.  We will have the major displays on the actual holiday, but mini-displays for days prior to and after the holiday.  It’s fun and I like it. Our dog, on the other hand, is currently hiding under one of the end tables in the family room.  Fireworks and thunderstorms – not his favorite things in the world.  I especially love being outside after the fireworks so I can inhale that great post-fireworks sulphur smell – that is heaven.  My thought – who needs perfume, when you can have eau de fireworks!!!

Bonnie Blue Quilts is celebrating July with a month-long sale on 18 of our quilt kits.  We’ve marked these kits down 30%, so get on over to the website and see whats there.  Some of these kits have limited quantities, so shop early.  We have also moved some of our older fabric collections to the Sales Corner – have to make room for all of the new collections we bought at Spring Market.  Some of those have already started to arrive:  Simpler Tymes from Windham Fabrics and Grace’s Dowry Shirtings from Blue Hill Fabrics.

I was cleaning off my desk today when I came across a list of acronyms that one of our customers sent me after the AQS-Lancaster show.  We were chatting at the show and she was telling me about this list of “words” she had and she agreed to share them with me.  I knew I had to get these on the blog at some point, but of course they got “lost” on the desk for awhile.  Thank you Kathy for sharing:

SABLE – Stash Accumulated Beyond Life Expectancy  –  I think we are all guilty of this one

STASH – Special Treasure All Secretly Hidden

PHD – Project Half Done

WOMBAT – Waste Of Money, Brains And Time

FPC  – (applies to husbands or others) – Follow, Pay, and Carry

In the last blog, I posted a photo on Sydney and I – my 1st Future Quilter of America.  Tonight I have a photo of #2 – Julianne and I at the sewing machine.  This one is definitely staged, but I know that if I can get them to the machine at a young age, I will make them quilters!!!

Julianne and I at the sewing machine - Future Quilter of America #2

I also love to blog about the food that we enjoy on our many travels.  I forgot to tell you about the bar-b-que we enjoyed in Dickson, TN – Bart’s Bar-B-Que.  Now according to the sign in the parking lot, it is the best bar-b-que in Dickson and I will have to agree.  Both Paula and I had the pulled pork and it was great.  I highly recommend this place if you happen to be passing through Dickson, TN.

On our way home we stopped at one of our favorite stores and believe it or not, it is not a quilt store.  The Smocking Bird is in Homewood, AL (just outside of Birmingham).   They sell fabric, but it is known for its variety of fabric for the sewing and smocking customer.  They have some of the cutest fabric for little girls and little boys clothing and I have purchased a least 2 drawers of fabric to make outfits for Sydney and now Julianne.  Paula bought beautiful linen for an heirloom dress for Sophie.  Before she was a quilter, Paula sewed heirloom and smocked dresses for her 3 daughters and she is continuing the tradition for her granddaughter Sophie – lucky girl.

The Smocking Bird - Homewood, AL

Well the fireworks have ended, so it must be time to end the day.  I hope you enjoyed your 4th of July.  We had dinner with friends, I worked on a new quilt, but didn’t get a chance to watch Independence Day.  I will move that to tomorrow’s agenda.  I love that movie and try to watch it on the 4th of July, but it doesn’t always work out that way.

So until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

One thought on “Happy 4th of July

Leave a Reply

