Home » Uncategorized » Family Vacation

Family Vacation

I’ve been away for a week on a vacation with my husband’s family – 16 of the possible 27 members.  My husband has 3 brothers and 1 sister and each year we try to get together for 1 week of family fun and bonding.  In previous years we’ve cruised, visited the Outer Banks and Lake George, and celebrated graduations and weddings.  This year we spent a week at the Sandpiper, a Club Med resort in Port St. Lucie, Florida.  And right now we are all trying to readjust to life without a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, all day kid’s camp, free drinks, and a myriad of sports and fitness activities – tennis, golf, archery, swimming, sailing, trapeze training, water polo, Zumba, aerobics and so much more.

Everyone seemed to love all of the physical activity stuff, but if you have ever met me you know there was absolutely no way I participated in any of those sports and fitness things.  I did sit by the pool and catch some rays and work on my tan, but I had my sewing machine with me (retreat in Jacksonville next week), so I did some sewing – probably the first time that happened at a Club Med!!! Maybe they’ll add extreme sewing as a future activity!!!

We all had a great time.  Everyone did what they wanted – activity or relaxation in varying degrees – but the week and it’s success can best be summed up by this photo of my niece, Lindsey (11 years old).  Last Saturday was her 1st time on the trapeze.  She started off  with hanging by her knees and her goal was to complete a catch before she left this Saturday.  You only get to try a catch if you have listened carefully to the instructions and have practiced hanging by your knees.  The picture says it all – by Wednesday she completed a catch!!!  Congratulations Lindsey – we are all so proud of you!!! The funniest part was when she asked me when I was going to try it!!!  I assured her it was safer for everyone concerned if I just stayed on the ground with my sewing machine.

Lindsey on the flying trapeze

(If this picture was more of a close-up, you would be able to see the chiseled abs and muscles of the fine young man that is catching Lindsey.  Ladies, can we talk about the “scenery” at this place and I don’t mean trees and flowers!!!  We’ll save this for a future post!!)

Our vacation week ended yesterday.  We said our good-byes and headed back to our respective real worlds – Syracuse, NY, Louisville, KY, Fredericksburg, VA, Katy, TX, and St. Petersburg, FL. Peter flew back to Katy,  but I headed to St. Pete with Caitlin.  I’m staying with her until Thursday, when I drive to Jacksonville to pick up Paula and head to our retreat with the Olde Green Cupboard ladies.  We are really looking forward to this retreat – heavy duty sewing time and no interruptions!!!  Paula has been busy designing, so we each have a new Bonnie Blue quilt to work on!  I’m currently working on another re-do – Vicksburg – and I should be able to finish the blocks  before I get to the retreat.  I need a design wall and unfortunately Caitlin’s apartment is small, so no big walls – that may have to wait until we get to the  retreat.

BBQ news – Lincoln’s Watch pattern and kit are now available.  Remember our kits include the pattern and the fabric is the exact fabric that we used to make the quilt.  Lincoln’s Watch is made with Paula’s newest collection, Reflections of an Era Past.

I’m looking forward to a great week with Caitlin.  I’ll sew while she’s at work, but maybe we’ll be able to catch a movie one night.  5 of the “girls” did go see Nicholas Cage in “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice” while we were at the Sandpiper.  Good movie and very entertaining, but then I’m partial to Nicholas Cage.  Rumor has it, there will be a National Treasure III – I sure hope so!!!

Until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

3 thoughts on “Family Vacation

Leave a Reply

