Home » Uncategorized » Vacation is Over

Vacation is Over

Well it is definitely sad to say – my 2 week vacation is OVER!!!  Peter and I arrived home this afternoon and I am proud to say:  the suitcases are unpacked, the clean clothes are put away (not too many of those!), the wash is ready to be started, and I even paid a bill.  I’ve caught up on my emails, so I thought I would catch up with all of you.

It was a great 2 weeks.  The cruise was fantastic.  We were on Royal Caribbean’s Oasis of the Seas – the biggest ship any cruise line has ever built.  (6300 passengers and 2100 crew members – it’s a floating city!)  Royal Caribbean has just finished the 2nd ship in that category – Allure of the Seas – and it arrived in Fort Lauderdale just a few days before we set sail.  There is only 1 pier big enough to handle these 2 ships, so the Allure had to go back out to sea for a training run while the Oasis docked and prepared to leave again.  We set sail on Saturday and the Allure was just returning and for the 1st time ever both ships were actually side by side.  I have to say, it was pretty impressive.  Each ship cost $1.3 billion to build and here they were side by side AND I was on one of them.  Here’s a photo of the Allure of the Seas.

Allure of the Seas

After the ship docked last Saturday, we drove back to St. Pete to be with family for Thanksgiving.  Our older daughter, Megan, was driving down from Louisville, KY, so by Saturday night we had 3 dogs and 4 adults in Caitlin’s 515 sq. foot apartment.  Just a little crowded.  Peter and I (and Jake, our dog) headed to my sister-in-laws for the rest of the week.  I set up my sewing machine – no, I don’t go anywhere without it – and between daytime trips to the beach, evening sunset trips, dinner out and some plain just sitting around time, I managed to get a little sewing done.

It was the 4 of us for Thanksgiving and we changed dinner up a bit.  Instead of the traditional turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, etc. meal, we had a carb-friendly grazing table.  We picked some of our favorite foods from past dinners and just had those – mashed potatoes, stuffing, shrimp cocktail, spinach dip, and Heluva Good French Onion dip.  We had mimosas and cinnamon rolls for breakfast on the beach and movie popcorn and Diet Coke when we went to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I in the afternoon.  It was fun, but Peter did say today that next year he would like to have some turkey and a green bean casserole – he missed those!!!

I bound the new “scrappy” quilt on our drive home.  Tomorrow it will be sent off to American Patchwork and Quilting magazine for one of their upcoming editions.

Tomorrow it’s back to the real world.  We have to get the warehouse ready for our Annual Warehouse Sale.  Friday, December 3rd and Saturday, December 4th we will open the warehouse and let people come in and shop.  All fabric (regular and sale priced) will be 35% off and we will also have scrap bags, fat quarters and rolled fabric available.  We know that not everyone can get to Katy for this once a year event, so we will also have a website sale starting on Monday, December 6th – same 35% off on fabric.  Kits will not be on sale.  So start browsing the website and get those shopping lists ready.  Remember quantities will be limited and the fabric goes very fast, so shop early!!!!

I also need to get back to the warehouse and see what Paula has been doing.  Apparently she’s pulled fabric for a new smaller Cabin Creek, another Harpers Ferry, and a small Cactus Baskets.  I see sewing in my future – can’t wait to get the machine fired up.  At some point I will have to decorate my house for Christmas.  Since we began Bonnie Blue Quilts, I’ve done less and less Christmas decorating.  It’s right after Fall Market and Festival and I’m usually still to busy to do a bang up job.  Megan and Caitlin affectionately call my attempts “Fat free Christmas” and they ask for a return to “Whole milk Christmas”.  I think I’m going to be disappointing them again this year.  I’m hoping I can just remove the Fall decorations that Paula put up for me and replace them with a similar Christmas decoration – Christmas garland for Fall garland, Christmas candles for Fall candles, etc.  I’ll let you know how it works.  Each year I go so far as to take pictures of what I’ve done so I can duplicate it the next year, but I can’t ever remember where I put those pictures.  I usually manage to find them about a month after Christmas!!!!

Now Paula did manage to find her pictures from last year and her house is almost all decorated.  I will definitely take some pictures and post them for you to see.  Her house is always beautiful, but at Christmas it is just fantastic.  I find myself wandering from room to room and just ooohing and aahhing.

I hope you all enjoyed your Thanksgivings, did some Black Friday shopping, started decorating for the next holiday, relaxed a little and of course, did some quilting!!!

Until next time, happy quilting.

Mary Ellen

One thought on “Vacation is Over

Leave a Reply

