Home » Uncategorized » Yes, we’re still here!!!

Yes, we’re still here!!!

Wow, it’s been a really long time since I last blogged, but I have some really good excuses this time!!!  But first, let me thank everyone for your kind words and comments.  Paula and I thought long and hard about our plan to change Bonnie Blue Quilts and we were very confident in our decision.  It was all the positive comments from all of you that reaffirmed that decision.  Thank you again.

Okay, so what are my excuses this time?  Let’s go with: “just plain old busy”.  The month-long fabric sale kept us going all day long.  I don’t think I have ever cut so many 1/2 yd pieces of fabric!!!!  When the lint finally settled, we discovered that our loyal customers had done a phenomenal job of helping us clear the fabric warehouse.  Thank you for making the job of emptying the 2 big warehouses and moving into a smaller warehouse so much easier.  In the midst of all of this, Paula was rearranging her own home so she could “take back” the Bonnie Blue “office” into her house.  Yup, we’re back to where we started the business – a bedroom in Paula’s home!

Now Paula wasn’t the only one moving “stuff”; I was preparing for our move to Florida.  Peter and I have now been in our new home in St. Petersburg, FL for just over a month.  We built our new home right next door to the house Peter grew up in and where his sister and her family currently live.  We’ve never lived near family before, so we are truly enjoying this.

AND if that wasn’t enough, we’ve still been doing what we love the most – designing and quilting!!!  Believe me when I say the very 1st room I unpacked and set up was my sewing room.  It was functional within 2 days of being here!  Now the kitchen, not so much, but then again I told my husband I didn’t really even need a kitchen, but apparently it helps with resale!

So let me tell you about some of this designing and quilting we’ve been doing.  Many of you may have heard us mention that we were planning a Block of the Month program (BOM), well it’s true.  Cotton Club is our BOM program that will begin in September, 2011.  Paula has designed a whole new fabric collection (Cotton Club) with Marcus Fabrics for the program and their salespeople are currently introducing the program to quilt shop owners.  Check with your favorite local and online quilt stores for more information about this great program.  I’ll also have more details to share in upcoming blogs.

I don’t know if you’ve heard about the new quilt magazine that will be debuting at the end of the month: “Primitive Quilts and Projects”.  Click on the title and it will take you to their website.  You are going to want to be sure you have a subscription to this magazine.  Top designers in the primitive quilt world were asked to submit projects for the premier issue:  Jan Patek, Lynda Hall, Renee Plains (Liberty Star), Kathy Schmitz, Lisa Bonegan (Primitive Gatherings), Gloria Parsons (Olde Green Cupboard) and many others. Of yeah, and Bonnie Blue Quilts!!!  Be sure to check out our quilt – Country Pinwheels.  Kits will be available – see the magazine for details.  A subscription will provide you with the 4 magazines that will be published each year and Bonnie Blue Quilts will have a quilt project in each one of the 1st 4 issues.

There’s still more, but let me save some for another blog!  We are in full pre-Market production mode, so there are all sorts of things being planned, designed and quilted.  Paula and I keep the email and phone lines in constant use and with our recent purchase of iPads, we’ll be trying a little “Face Time”!!!  Now that could be downright scary!!!!

Although we no longer carry fabric by the yard on our website, we still have all of our patterns and kits available for sale.  As soon as we have some pictures, we will be adding some new kits – redo’s of some of our favorite quilts.

So until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

5 thoughts on “Yes, we’re still here!!!

  1. I can’t believe you have posted a new entry before I had a chance to harass you about not posting entries on the blog! Some people…

    Glad to hear you’re settling in to Florida so happily. Wish you had been in Dallas – I was only able to harass Paula!!

  2. Help! Making the VicksburgQuilt Kit I got at Quilt A Fair in Longmont last fall short a 2.5″ x 8″ of a fabric, would you be able to identify it and give suggestions as where to locate the fabric?

Leave a Reply

