Home » Uncategorized » Cover Girls again!!!!

Cover Girls again!!!!

I was already to write today’s blog about Fall and how much I love it – when I am actually living in area that gets to experience Fall – but that will have to wait until paragraph 2.  I called Paula yesterday to wish her a safe trip – she and hubby JR are traveling to Colorado for Quilt-A-Fair (paragraph 3) – and she told me the latest good news:  our Glory Bound quilt will be featured on the cover of the Dec/Jan issue of “Quilt” magazine!!!!!!  Cover girls, twice in 2 months – I can’t believe it!!!!  My children are now assured of a second Christmas gift this year – yes, indeed, an autographed framed copy of this cover!!!  At this rate we may have to dedicate an entire wall to quilt magazine covers – just kidding – fame has gone to my head – lol !!!!

Fall – my favorite season – cool, crisp air; hillsides ablaze with trees in beautiful reds, golds, and oranges; apple picking and fresh apple cider; pumpkins; and of course, candy corn!  As a good friend has always said – “She’s never met a pumpkin she didn’t love!”  I know Clair is anxiously awaiting October 1 – that’s Fall decorating day for her – and there will be a tear in her eye when she changes over to Christmas decorating in December.  That was living in New York, but now I live in Florida and it is still hot, palm trees don’t change colors, and there are no apple orchards.  Thank heavens the local CVS had candy corn!!!  I will decorate in another week or so – company coming next week – and I will love how my house looks.  I will munch on some candy corn, look at the pretty decorations and maybe even pull out that recipe for German Apple Coffee Cake that is perfect for fall.  It’s best served warm with vanilla ice cream and I’m sure I can convince Francie and her crowd to come over and join us.

Paula and JR are actually in Longmont, Colorado today setting up for Quilt-A-Fair, a two day vendor show sponsored by the Colorado Quilting Council.  If you are in the area, stop by and say hello.  The hours are Friday and Saturday (9/23 and 9/24) from 9am-5pm.  Paula brought some of our newest quilts and kits with her: A House Divided, Belle Meade, Second Hand Clothes, Legacy, Cactus Baskets, Country Pinwheels and Country Spools.  You can’t miss our booth, we are right at the front door.

So while Paula is off at a quilt show, I’m back at home at the sewing machine.  Fall Market and Festival are just around the corner, so I’m working on completing the quilts that Paula designed for her 2 new fabric collections – Country Manor and Tavern Blues.  There’s 1 word to describe both of them – gorgeous!!!!  I love both of the collections, but I’m probably a little partial to Tavern Blues – navys, browns and khakis – can you say yummy!!!!  Both collections should be shipping in October/November and we plan to have kits for both of the new quilts at Festival.  Rumor has it that I will be working on a small quilt after I finish these two – a little different for us!!!!

Paula thought it was time we did a little something for ourselves, something not business-related, so we are doing an exchange of 4″ finished star blocks.  We each make 2 blocks at a time and then give one set to the other person.  Paula has already given me 6 blocks and I think she has another 6 ready to go.  Me, on the other hand, finally took some time last night to get some fabric cut and paired up for blocks.  I just finished sewing the 1″ Spinning Stars for 24 sets of blocks (yup, that’s 48 blocks – I’m psyched).  I love having the Spinning Stars sewn because now I can pull out a little baggie and piece 2 blocks.

I hope you enjoyed this first day of Fall, wherever you are!!!  Until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

5 thoughts on “Cover Girls again!!!!

  1. Love, love, love your quilts! I’m in the (very slow) process of making your last “cover” quilt. Can’t wait to see the new one. Congrats!

  2. Hi Mary Ellen,
    I picked up Quilt magazine about a month ago because I loved yours and Paula’s quilt (scrappy stars) on the cover so much. I fell in love with the quilt and had to make it. I’ve never made a quilt before and I hardly know how to sew. Haha! But now here I am almost done with my first quilt. I sewed some parts by hand, but mostly by sewing machine I got my hands on a relative’s machine to borrow). This quilt has been such an inspiration to me and I can’t wait to get started on my next one. I will send you a picture when it’s complete, if you’d like. 🙂
    –Melissa

    • Dear Melissa,
      Wow, congratulations on your 1st quilt. AND thank you so much for your kind words. What a way to start the New Year, knowing we were your inspiration!!! Please send a picture when you have finished your quilt. We would love to see it and post it, if you don’t mind. I was just telling someone about my 1st quilt (made in 1975 as a baby gift). It was from a magazine on 100 things you could make by Christmas (I think the magazine came out in October – talk about wishful thinking!!). It was from gingham fabric and I didn’t use a ruler to measure the pieces – I counted the squares in the gingham!!! Needless to say it was more of a parallelogram than a square quilt, but I loved making it and basically I was hooked. I’ve been quilting since then and I’ve never looked back or regretted it. I hope your quilt #2 will be another Bonnie Blue Quilt.

      • Hi there! I emailed you several photos of my finished quilt. Like I said in the email, it’s not as beautiful as the one on the cover of the magazine, but I’m trying not to be too hard on myself since it’s my first try! Enjoy the pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

