Home » Uncategorized » Happy New Years

Happy New Years

Okay, okay, I know – the last post was months ago, but I have excuses and reasons and I could go on for pages, but let’s just start new.  It’s the dawn of a new year and I could make one of those resolutions that I’ll break in the 1st week, so improvement is my goal.  My dear friend Gloria (Olde Green Cupboard blog) has promised to write about something new and exciting every day.  Wow, now that’s an undertaking, but if you know Gloria, than you know she will accomplish this and it will be wonderful.  Check out her blog.

I’ve been busy since I last wrote:  Market, Festival, family trips, family visits, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, new quilts, re-do quilts, Block of the Month program, personal quilts, etc.  And I have loved every minute of it.  I really don’t know what I would be doing if I didn’t have quilting and Bonnie Blue Quilts.  We’ve been in our new home in St. Pete for almost a year now and I am settled in and loving it.  I have a beautiful sewing room to work in and family and friends nearby (right next door to be exact). Today I’ve enjoyed listening to my niece and nephews playing on the trampoline Santa brought them for Christmas.  I did have to laugh when they asked me if I wanted a turn!!!! Now there’s a visual – me on a trampoline – scary!!!

So you probably want to hear about what’s happening with Bonnie Blue Quilts.

1:  Cotton Club Block of the Month program began for most shops in September and is now coming up on month 6. (I realize some shops are following a different schedule.)  I hope that if you are participating in the program, you are working right along and completing your blocks.  I don’t know about you, but I just love the little blocks!!!  I also hope you are enjoying the free monthly projects.

2:  Block of the Month 2 – yup, it’s time to start thinking about the next one.  The fabric is being printed, the quilt has been planned and now it’s time to sew it together!!!  I am flying to Houston tomorrow (6 AM to be exact), so Paula and I can have some good sewing and planning time (and we have to do inventory – ugh!!!).  I’m holding out for lunch at Las Mananitas – I need queso and fajitas desperately.  Sneak preview of #2 –  it’s going to be patriotic, larger blocks and the eagle fabric is returning!!!!

3: Paula designed 2 new collections for Marcus Fabrics and they appeared in 2 new quilts at Fall Market.  Tavern Blues quilt features the Tavern Blues collection and Elizabeth features the Country Manor collection.  Both kits will be available on our website very soon.  We ran out of kits at Festival and new ones are being cut and assembled as quickly as possible. They are both beautiful collections, but the navies, blacks and khakis of Tavern Blues are just to die for!!!!

Pattern for Tavern Blues

Pattern for Elizabeth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4:  We did re-do’s of A House Divided (watch for this in an upcoming issue of “Quilt” magazine), Plantation Road and Cabin Creek.  Re-do’s are in the works for Savannah in browns, reds and golds, Madison in brown, red and cheddar and a reappearance of Lydia in navy, red and cheddar.  I also just pieced Savannah (without borders) in Morris Garden as a very belated wedding present.  I love this pattern – it looks beautiful in any fabric!!!

5:  Cotton Club fabric was also used in a new quilt for “American Patchwork and Quilting” magazine (on the newsstands in early April).  After the success of Star Formation (and the subsequent lack of kits to meet the demand), we have increased the number of kits we will have available for this new quilt.  We hope you are as pleased with this quilt as you were with Star Formation.

Peter and I traveled to upstate NY to visit our son and I had the opportunity to visit a couple of shops that are participating in the Cotton Club.  I have photos and I will share those in upcoming blogs.  I also have photos of Market, Festival, new quilts, re-do’s, me on the trampoline (just kidding) and others, so I have plenty of “stuff” to share with you in later blogs.

I thank you for your patience with me.  I will try to be better at this “blogging” thing.

I wish you the best in 2012.  May it be all that you hope it will be.

Until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

Leave a Reply

