Home » Uncategorized » Busy Week Ahead

Busy Week Ahead

I have officially become a “jet-setter”.  I traveled to Houston on Monday, arrived back in St.Pete on Thursday, leave for a 5 day Caribbean cruise from Tampa today, return Thursday AM, catch a plane to NY on Thursday evening and return home for good on Monday!!!  I’m exhausted just reading all of that and I’m the one that has to do all of it!!!!  Now how about some details:

My trip to Houston was a Bonnie Blue Quilts trip.  Paula and I settled into her sewing room on Monday afternoon and reemerged on Thursday morning so I could catch my plane.  We came out for some great JR meals – the scallops Wednesday night were to die for – and a trip to Las Mananitas for lunch with Jill and Cindy.  I had my fajita fix and it should hold me – until the next trip!!!  The visit was a success – Freedom Rings BOM is designed and partially pieced!!!  I joked that we needed to have a video camera going while we do this.  Paula designs and cuts.  I piece.  She arranges the components of the block on the design wall and then we both oohh and ahhh – pretty impressive!!!  And then the rearranging process begins.  I don’t piece the blocks so that Paula can move the components around.  I can honestly say that some of those half square triangles ended up in 3 other blocks before they finally found their “home”.  At around 1 AM on Thursday morning, Paula declared the blocks “done” and we each took pictures of them.  I packed each block up and they traveled home with me and I will piece them together.  All in all a very productive trip.

Caribbean cruise – a 5 day out of Tampa on Royal Caribbean’s Jewel of the Seas.  Our daughter Caitlin is coming also and we are all looking forward to a relaxing trip.  Peter and Caitlin will do some snorkeling.  I will watch – that whole face in the water thing – not my idea of a good time.  I have a couple of books and a hand project to keep me busy.

NY trip.  Caitlin and I are traveling to upstate NY to see my son, daughter-in-law and 2 granddaughters.  I am so excited.  Big issue – it hasn’t snowed there yet, so I can pretty well guarantee that it will snow while I am there AND I don’t own a pair of shoes that has both closed toes and closed heels.  Could be a problem, but on the other hand, why would I even consider going out in the snow!!!!!  Brrr!!!  I am a true Floridian now!!!!

Those new BOM blocks will be calling my name the whole time I am gone, so I think I will be at the sewing machine by Tuesday.  Paula is actually coming here towards the end of January so we can go to another of Gloria’s fantastic Camp Blanding retreats – quilting and men in uniforms – enough said there!!!! I should have all of the blocks done by the time she gets here and then we will piece the quilt together – YAY!!!!!  Can’t wait to see it done.  It is hard to believe that we are working on the next BOM program and we are just in the middle of the current one!

Time to go finish up the packing.  I have to be careful that I don’t confuse the suitcases and take the NY suitcase (sweaters, turtlenecks and sweatshirts) on the cruise!!! I hope  you’ve been following Gloria’s blog.  She’s been posting every day – puts me to shame – and her posts are great!!!

Until next time, happy quilting!

Mary Ellen

 

2 thoughts on “Busy Week Ahead

  1. My main problem with your patterns…I have to have them all 🙂 I love gathering the backgrounds and borders for each one and I have quite a collection…you are developing them too quickly! I work to support this habit and there is no 12-step program…it is fun and I enjoy the Civil War era quilts…Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

