Home » Uncategorized » Rip Van Winkle

Rip Van Winkle

I’m sure most of you have read or heard Washington Irving’s short story “Rip Van Winkle”.  In order to avoid his nagging wife, Rip goes off,  “parties” with some new found friends, wakes up twenty years later and discovers time has past him by.  He missed the American Revolution, his wife has died and his children have grown up.  Well, I think I’ve been a bit Rip Van Winkle-ish myself.  I haven’t blogged since January and it seems some things have changed!!!!

First, check out our new name – Red Crinoline Quilts!!!!  Yes, we are no longer Bonnie Blue Quilts.  We decided it was time  to trademark our name, but Bonnie Blue was already been using by someone in the “sewing” venue (trademark attorney language).  Paula and I decided to just pick a new name.  I checked our notes from some of our original meetings and Red Crinoline Quilts was our second choice, so Red Crinoline Quilts it is!!!  Nothing else has changed – same people, same product, same service.  New website:  www.redcrinolinequilts.com

New business name meant new name for the blog, but as you can see I haven’t come up with anything catchy.  Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

During my seven month hiatus, we also managed to finish the Freedom Rings quilt (2 actually), write the patterns and prepare the shop kits (8500 pieces of fabric cut, folded and labelled – thank you Gloria, Anne and Tiffani!!).  Freedom Rings is a seven month block of the month program that will start in October in most shops.  Check your local or online shops for their start date.  I just love this quilt!!!!!

Freedom Rings BOM quilt

It was a very busy spring and preparing for Market was thrown off just a bit by my 17 day vacation – 14 day transatlantic cruise to Spain and 3 day visit in Barcelona.  I had a wonderful time, but pre-Market is not the best time to be out of the country and away from my sewing machine!!!!  I was barely back and it was time to head to Kansas City for Market and a chance to visit with old friends.

Did you see our quilt in the June 2012 issue of American Patchwork and Quilting, pg. 78.  Ship Shape kits (with the magazine) are available on our website.  This quilt features Paula’s Cotton Club fabric.  We also have kits for Charlotte (featuring Paula’s new line Old Savannah), Lydia, Country Day Table Runner (as seen in Primitive Quilts and Projects) and Madison (in cheddar and brown – stunning!!)

Let’s cut to the present:  Paula’s mind is in design overdrive and I’m piecing new quilts like it is going out of style.  It’s hot here in Florida and I ‘m enjoying my sewing and TV time in my air conditioned room.  Peter and I spent a month in upstate NY – Northville on the Great Sacandaga Lake.  We were an hour away from our son and his family, so we were in grandparent heaven!!!  My only complaint for the month – what was up with all the days in the 90″s!!!!!  I left Florida and went to upstate NY to be away from the heat!!!  Between the hot days, no ac and no cable, I was ready to come home and catch up on my taped shows in cool comfort.

If all goes as planned, we will have 6 or 7 new patterns for Fall Market and many will be using Paula’s newest collections – Retro Geo, Tavern Collection and Companions. We are also planning some re-do’s – Second Hand Clothes in blues and browns, Simple Star in soft pinks and whatever else Paula can find as she prowls the warehouse!!  I’ll save details for upcoming blogs.

So until next time, happy quilting!

Mary Ellen

Leave a Reply

