Home » Uncategorized » New quilts

New quilts

I hope everyone is enjoying their Labor Day weekend.  I’ve been working on Freedom Rings patterns (all done!!!) and new quilts, but tomorrow I am taking a break and going to a baseball game with Peter and Caitlin.  The New York Yankees will be in town playing the Tampa Bay Rays.  Peter and Caitlin are both big Yankee fans, so it’s a little uncomfortable to go to a game and sit with people that are cheering for the opposing team.  Personally, I’m there for the cool blue drinks they serve (Trop Storms) AND the Carvel ice cream they serve – yes, it’s all about the food!!

Now I know I promised you pictures/updates on some of our new quilts, but I thought you might like to hear about our new kit that is on sale.  We  just completed a new version of our popular James River Blues.  We love it in blue, but thought this time we would pair up reds and shirtings and top them off with a great border stripe.  Guess what – we love it as much as the blue one!!! It’s in red, so of course it’s beautiful!!! It was just added to our website AND it’s on sale for 15% off from September 3- 7.  Check out James River Reds.

James River Red

We are in full Fall Market prep, so Paula is knee-deep in new fabric designs and new quilt designs and I’ve got my sewing machine working overtime!!  I swear I hear it breathe a sigh of relief when I go to bed at night. I’ve actually been working  on 3 different quilts for the past couple of days.  I don’t usually have more than one going at a time, but I was waiting on border fabric to arrive, so I had 3 in different stages of completion.  As of this afternoon, 2 are done and ready to go to the quilter.

Kaleidoscope (it hasn’t been officially named yet) is a new quilt (and kit) from Paula’s new Companions collection.  Yes, those are 4″ finished blocks!!!!

Kaleidoscope blocks

The Simple Star is a new version and kit of one of our very popular patterns. I just love this pattern.  All it takes is 2 yds of a great border and then 4 lights and 4 darks for the blocks – couldn’t be any easier and always looks beautiful.  We’ve done it in patriotic fabrics and Christmas flannel – now that’s versatile!!

Simple Star

Kaleidoscope and Simple Star are both done, so now I’m working on a new Second Hand Clothes in browns, navies and blacks – yummy!!! Another one of our great patterns that looks good in any fabric – scrappy or whole collection.

The quilter already has another new quilt that features the Star of Bethlehem block in a new collection from Marcus Fabrics – Molly B’s Basics, Borders and Backgrounds.  I guess we’re going to have to get busy and come up with names for these new quilts!!!

Star of Bethlehem quilt

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.  In the past, Labor Day weekend meant the end of the summer for me.  If you grew up in New York, school always started the Wednesday after Labor Day and this was the last weekend at Jones Beach.

Until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

2 thoughts on “New quilts

  1. I’m with you on the food…that’s the best part of the ball game! I’m loving the new Second Hand Clothes combo…that is one of my absolute favorite patterns. Have fun at the game!

Leave a Reply

