Home » Uncategorized » Updates

Updates

Can I just say I’ve been incredibly busy since I last posted????  When I think back over the past 6 weeks I am actually quite amazed at how much has happened and how much I have actually accomplished.  The Holidays have come and gone, quilts have been made and trips have been taken.  I even fit in a couple of new movies.  So yes I haven’t posted because I’ve been really busy and here’s a quick synopsis:

Traveled to NY to spend Christmas with my son and his family and had a great time.  It was wonderful having everyone together.  Now I bought boots for this trip because I don’t own any real shoes (closed toe and closed heel) and I decided I wouldn’t remove the price tag in the hopes of not really needing them.  Thanks to the 12″ of  snow in Syracuse and the 8″ of snow in Schenectady I now own a perfectly wonderful pair of F-Uggs (Fake Uggs)!!!  After the de-icing of the plane in Albany for our return trip, I was very happy to be back in sunny Florida.

Snow in Syracuse

Snow in Syracuse

After Thanksgiving I took some time to do some personal sewing and managed to get quite a lot accomplished – Christmas quilts, a couple of baby gifts and a couple of dresses for my niece out of that wonderful ruffle fabric.  Two of the Christmas quilts went to Sydney and Julianne and here they are enjoying them.  When I went back and looked at the pictures, it seems quite a few people used them to snuggle under!!! I just love when a quilt is put to good use.

Julianne and Sydney under their Christmas quilts.

Julianne and Sydney under their Christmas quilts.

Yes, this is Caitlin, my 5'10" daughter under one of the little girls' Christmas quilts.

Yes, this is Caitlin, my 5’10” daughter under one of the little girls’ Christmas quilts.

Paula came to visit before Christmas and it was mission Block of the Month #3 – Hampton Ridge.  I know some of you are just getting started on #2 – Freedom Rings, but we need to be about a year ahead of you.  Paula designed the fabric this past summer and now we are working on the program.  I’ve actually finished the quilt and it is being quilted as we speak.  I can’t show you pictures of the quilt or the blocks yet, but I can show you some “work in progress” pictures.  The Twizzlers were the key to getting this project done on time.  We started off with a couple of small bags, but by the end of the 4 days we were into the large family size!!!

Paula's "mess" from trimming the Spinning Stars

Paula’s “mess” from trimming the Spinning Stars

Spinning Stars waiting to have the paper removed and pressed open.

Spinning Stars waiting to have the paper removed and pressed open.

Twizzlers - the key to successful BOM designing

Twizzlers – the key to successful BOM designing

Now I am working on a re-do of Sarah Emma out of Paula’s new collection, Townhouse Gardens.  It keeps getting put to the side, but tonight I finally got all of the rows sewn together and then it’s on to the borders – 3 of them!!!  Oh, did I tell you the new BOM has 4 borders: 1 pieced and 1 mitered!!!!

I had to stop working on Sarah Emma and get it packed in my travel bag because it is going to retreat with me tomorrow!!!  Yes, it is Camp Blanding retreat time again.  5 marvelous days of sewing with 200 of my closest quilting friends and men in uniform.  Could you ask for anything more?  I don’t think so.  This is the retreat that Gloria Parsons of Olde Green Cupboard Designs sponsors.  This year Gloria has invited Pam Buda of Heartspun Quilts and Lynne Hagmeier of Kansas Troubles Quilters to teach classes.  Should be great fun. Paula is off to Winterfest in Utah tomorrow, but she’ll be arriving for the retreat on Sunday and then we are staying for a mini-retreat with Gloria and some other friends.  I think I have everything packed (except for my clothes – but that’s tomorrow) – 2 sewing machines, 2 Sew-Ezi tables, 2 sewing chairs, 2 ironing tables, and assorted sewing supplies!!!  Tomorrow I’ll stop and get the snacks – have to have good snacks!!!

I’ll try to post from the retreat, but we’ll have to see how wi-fi goes there!!!

Until next time, happy quilting.

Mary Ellen

Leave a Reply

