Home » Uncategorized » Friends and Family

Friends and Family

No, I’m not asking you to join my cell phone group, just wanting to share the past couple of weeks.

Family:  we spent the first week of July with family in upstate NY.  Now, my dear husband has this theory that it’s going to be cooler in NY than it is in hot, humid Florida and sometimes his theory is actually correct – and other times not so much!!!  The beginning of the week was rainy – they’d had about 8″ in June alone and flooding in towns along the NYS Thruway – but by the 4th I was begging for my central AC!!!  We spent a couple of days with Peter’s brother Steve and his family (Anne – wife who folds BOM fabric and Emily – daughter who likes quilt gifts) at their home in Syracuse and their house on Lake Ontario in the village of Mexico.  Then we headed to Ballston Lake to visit son Brett and his family – Meredith, Sydney and Julianne.  Megan and Caitlin joined us, so we had a great reunion – kayaking, good food, movies with the granddaughters (Despicable Me II), boating on Lake George,  and bar-b-que-ing!!!!  We even have pictures to prove it!!

Caitlin, Megan, Panzer (Emily's dog) and Emily doing what you do at the lake house - RELAX!!!

Caitlin, Megan, Panzer (Emily’s dog) and Emily doing what you do at the lake house – RELAX!!!

Steve is cooking a traditional big breakfast. You would never know we had enjoyed a big dinner the night before!!!  It's all about the food.  Please note the cardboard on the windows isn't to replace missing glass, but to test where new windows may go!!!! house

Steve is cooking a traditional big breakfast. You would never know we had enjoyed a big dinner the night before!!! It’s all about the food. Please note the cardboard on the windows isn’t to replace missing glass, but to test where new windows may go!!!!

4th of July family marshmallow toasting.  Check out the size of those sticks and the marshmallows.  They made some great S'mores!!!

4th of July family marshmallow toasting. Check out the size of those sticks and the marshmallows. They made some great S’mores!!!

Sydney and Julianne help Grandpa Pete steer the boat on Lake George.

Sydney and Julianne help Grandpa Pete steer the boat on Lake George.

Brett and Julianne "resting" on the boat.

Brett and Julianne “resting” on the boat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we got back home, I had a project or two to finish up before the fabric arrived for more shop kits.  I finished the t-shirt quilt for my niece and it is off at the quilters (I’ll share a photo after she has it in her possession) and then I got busy cutting the fabric  – 50 more shop kits!!!!  And that’s where the friends part comes in!!!!

Friends:  My dear friend Gloria (Gloria Parsons of Olde Green Cupboard Designs in Jacksonville, FL) arrived on Friday morning to help fold, label and bag the fabric!!!  I couldn’t have done it without her!!!  I finished the cutting and then I did some folding also and I’ve still got a little to go!!!  Now apparently there was a little temptation in Gloria’s line of sight while she was here.  I keep a basket (a Longaberger gift from Paula) on my sewing table and I toss the fabric scraps in it as I cut fabric.  I never thought too much about it, but when a photo of said basket appeared on Facebook and Gloria’s blog, I knew it was time to be a little protective!!!  I can honestly say I didn’t search her luggage before she left, but rest assured I did check the sewing table before she was out the door!!!!

Gloria working on her tote bag from her new fabric collection!!

Gloria working on her tote bag from her new fabric collection Londonderry with Marcus Fabrics!!

The infamous basket of scraps!!!

The infamous basket of scraps!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You’ve probably noticed that the blog looks a little different.  We are having our blog updated – new header, blog lists added, etc. – and this was a test.   We are actually going to move to a new blog host, but I will let you know when we are moving.  I don’t want to lose any of you.  Hopefully the new hosting site will be better about how pictures appear in your post!!!   Gloria’s daughter Heather, a very talented photographer and graphic designer, is working her magic for us.  She is also setting up a Facebook page for Red Crinoline Quilts.  Look out Social Media, Red Crinoline Quilts is in the house!!!!

Well the BOM fabric is calling my name!!!  I want to get this all finished and the kits ready because then I will start sewing on a quilt for Fall Market from Paula’s newest collection Bordeaux and Sienna!!! Can we say yummy!!!!

Until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

Leave a Reply

