Home » Uncategorized » Holding Pattern

Holding Pattern

No, that’s not the name of a new Red Crinoline Quilt, but rather my day so far.  I’m anxiously awaiting the UPS or FedEx truck with the pattern bags and 3 ring binders that I need to finish the Block of the Month quilts.  Everything else is done and ready to assemble, but I’m missing those 2 items.  Now whose fault is it that I don’t have them – MINE!!!!  I forgot to order them, so now I am waiting for them.  Oh yeah, and patience is definitely not one of my virtues!!!

Now I know you’re sitting there and thinking: “why doesn’t she just sew something, after all she is a quilter!!”  Well, that is a great idea, but in order to have room for Gloria and I to fold all the BOM fabric, I unplugged and removed 1 sewing machine from its table and shoved the other machine and it’s table into the corner.  So they are not readily accessible, but trust me, if I have to wait much longer, I will be moving at least one of those machines!!!

So for now I am in a holding pattern and I’ve decided to work on another project.  A dear friend is a new grandma, so I need a boy baby quilt!!!!  Paula discovered the best baby quilt ever on Moda Bake Shop – Stacked Coins – and it is now my official go-to baby quilt.  A couple of charm packs and you are ready to go.  I happen to have a couple of  “Oink-A-Doodle Moo” from Moda, so I am going to cut them and get them ready for piecing.  Here’s a picture of the fabrics.  Nice bright colors that are just perfect for a little boy’s room.

Stacked coins 1 To make the quilt, you cut the charm squares in half horizontally.  This charm pack has 42 squares and that should be plenty for this quilt.

Stacked coins 2

After the squares are cut in half, they are pieced together in vertical rows – 21 per row.  Here’s what a row will look like when it is finished.

Stacked coins 3

This is only the cutting stage, so I promise to post a picture when it is completed.  It really goes together very quickly and that is just perfect for a baby quilt.

Hey, are you in the Dallas area this week?  Paula is teaching Star of the West and Regimental Star on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday at Happiness Is…Quilting in McKinney, TX.  Space is still available, so just call the store and sign-up.  Right now she’s being a “personal shopper” at the United Notions warehouse.  She’s got her list, my list and my permission to pick up two of anything she likes or thinks we can’t live without!!!  I’m really very jealous that I’m not there with her!!!

Well, still no bags or binders, so I’m off to cut my charm squares!!

Until next time, happy quilting,

Mary Ellen

Leave a Reply

